top of page

The Five Elements

At the core of Ayurvedic philosophy lies the concept of the five fundamental elements, or Pancha Mahabhutas, which are Earth (Prithvi), Water (Jala), Fire (Tejas), Air (Vayu), and Ether (Akasha). These elements are not only the foundation of the universe but also the essence of our very being, intricately woven into the fabric of our existence.

Ayurveda teaches us that both our bodies, the food we consume, and the experiences we expose ourselves too, all contain combinations of each of these elements.


So naturally, if the body has an imbalance of one of these elements, then we use other elements to counteract and restore harmony.

Treatments that do this include the use of natural therapies, herbs, diet, exercise, and lifestyle guidance, all of which I provide guidance on.

Garden Soil

Earth (Prithvi)

The Earth element symbolizes stability, solidity, and nourishment. It is the most tangible of the five elements and represents the structure of our bodies — the bones, muscles, and tissues. Earth provides the grounding force that offers support and endurance, manifesting in qualities such as physical strength, stability, and patience.

Image by Akira Hojo

Water (Jala)

Water embodies fluidity, cohesiveness, and adaptability. It is essential for life, representing all that flows within us — blood, lymph, and other fluids. Water lubricates our joints, maintains temperature regulation, and aids in the transportation of nutrients and waste. It imbues us with qualities of emotional depth, nurturing, and intuition.

Camp Fire

Fire (Tejas)

Fire signifies transformation, metabolism, and vitality. It is the force behind digestion and metabolism, transforming food into energy. Fire governs our body temperature, color, and luster, reflecting in qualities like enthusiasm, courage, and the capacity for intellectual digestion.

Cloud in the Sky

Air (Vayu)

Air represents movement, change, and expansion. It is the breath of life, governing respiratory functions and the movement of thoughts and emotions. Air is associated with the nervous system, movement of muscles, and pulsation of the heart, embodying qualities of creativity, flexibility, and lightness.


Ether (Akasha)

Ether, or space, is the most subtle of the elements, embodying openness, expansion, and the non-material aspects of life. It represents the spaces within our bodies — the cavities and channels that allow for the flow of air, food, and fluids. Ether is associated with communication, freedom, and the spiritual dimension.

Dew Drops

These five elements combine in various ways to form the three doshas — Vata (Air + Ether), Pitta (Fire + Water), and Kapha (Earth + Water), which represent the vital energies that govern our physical and mental functions. The balance of these doshas is key to our health and well-being, with each individual possessing a unique constitution or Prakriti defined by the dominance of one or more doshas.

Vata (Air + Ether)

Governs movement and communication within the body and mind. It is the principle of mobility that drives the nervous system, breathing, and circulation.

Pitta (Fire + Water)

Oversees digestion, metabolism, and energy production. It is the principle of transformation that manages the digestive fire, hormonal activity, and intellect.

Kapha (Earth + Water)

Provides structure, lubrication, and stability. It is the principle of cohesion that forms the body's substance, lubricates the joints, and nurtures the tissues.

Understanding the interplay of these elements and doshas offers profound insights into maintaining harmony and health, guiding us towards a balanced lifestyle that nurtures our innate nature.

From Elements
to Doshas

bottom of page